Eleonore Pameijer – Fluit

Eleonore studied flute with Koos Verheul at the Amsterdam Conservatory where she received her solo diploma “cum laude”. She continued her studies with Abbie de Quant (Utrecht, the Netherlands) and with Sue Ann Kahn at Bennington College (Vermont, U.S.A.), also following master classes with Julius Baker, Samuel Baron and the legendary French flutist Marcel Moyse.

After returning to Europe, she studied with Severino Gazzeloni at the Academia Chigiana (Italy). She followed special courses for Baroque Music with Jos van Immerseel, Bart Kuyken and Ton Koopman.

She gave her debut recital in the Amsterdam Concertgebouw and was prize winner of the Frank Martin competition. She appeared on Dutch National Television in a program featuring “young soloists of the year”.

In 1985, she became principal flutist of the ASKO/Schönberg-ensemble, one of the leading 20th-century music ensembles in Europe.

Eleonore has performed as soloist with many orchestras and ensembles lead by conductors such as David Porcelijn, Arthuro Tamayo, Richard Duffalo, Ton Koopman, Oliver Knussen, Jaap van Zweden, Kenneth Montgomery, Ingo Metzmacher, Peter Eötvös, Philippe Entremont and Alexander Vedernikov. She has also contributed her soloist capacities to many Holland Festival productions, performing as well in almost every European country, Canada and the USA.

Eleonore gave many recitals with chamber music featuring composers such as Bach, Telemann, Mozart, Beethoven, Debussy, Steven Mackey and Isang Yun. Numerous compositions have been written especially for her, including Flute Concertos by Jeff Hamburg (US), Peter Schat (NL), Joep Straesser (NL), Vanessa Lann (US), Peter van Onna (NL), Joost Kleppe (NL), Paul Termos (NL) and Guus Janssen (NL). Dutch publishing house Donemus published two books with solo flute repertoire all composed for Eleonore Pameijer.

Eleonore has made many radio and television recordings as well as an increasing number of CDs for Future Classics, Attacca, Composers’ Voice, Philips, NM Classics, Olympia and Channel Classics.