Kikuko Ogura – Belle Epoque Harmony

4 aug 2024, 16.00
Luther Museum, Amsterdam

Belle Epoque Harmony

The Erard fortepiano (1891), which plays the beautiful sound of the times, will resonate in the Kerkzaal of the Luther Museum. It begins with M.Ravel’s Prélude, composed in honor of Ravel’s friends who died in World War I. C.Debussy’s ‘Estampes, which draws inspiration from the Orient, Spain, and France. R.Taki’s ‘Minuet’ and ‘Regret’ are the first piano pieces written by a Japanese. C. Chaminade was a very successful female composer. C.Debussy’s ‘Children’s Corner” reminisces about the childhood days that everyone went through. ´L’Isle Joyeuse´ where all people fly together to a world of happiness.


Maurice Ravel (1875~1937)
– Prélude ´Le Tombeau de Couperin’

Claude Debussy (1862~1918): Estampes
– Pagodes                                       
– La soirée dans Grenade                                        
– Jardins sous la pluie

Rentaro Taki (1879~1903)
– Menuetto
– Regret

Cécile Chaminade (1857~1944)
– Pas des Echarpes Op.37-3
– Automme Op.35-2


Francis Jean Marcel Poulenc (1899~1963)
XZ éme Improvisation en Ut mineur  ´Hommage A Edith Piaf´ 

Kósçak Yamada (1886~1965) :
– Four seasons in Kyoto
– Karatachi-no-hana
C. Debussy ´Children’s Corner´
– Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum  
– Jimbo’s Lullaby
– Serenade for the Doll
– The snow is dancing
– The little Shepherd
– Golliwog’s Cake Walk

 C. Debussy : L’Isle Joyeuse  

Kikuko OGURA

Kikuko Ogura studied at the Tokyo University of the Arts and subsequently at the university itself. She furthered her studies at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam, graduating with cum laude honors. She won 1st prize at the Japan Mozart Piano Competition 1989, and 1st prizes in the ensemble section 1993 and fortepiano section 1995 as well as the audience prize at the Bruges International Early Music Competition. She has made many appearance on television and radio. Her more than 50 CDs have been highly recommended by newspapers and music magazines such as ‘Record Geijutsu’. Other awards and prizes include the Grand Prize in the Record Category of the National Arts Festival Japan 2012, Music Pen Club Japan Award (Classical instrumental/vocal section), and an honorable mention in the JXTG Music Awards (western music section). She is the author of ‘An Illustrated History of the Piano’ (Kawade Shobō Shinsha), and has edited the critical edition of “Giustini: Twelve Sonatas” Volumes I and II (Edition Kawai), and a collection of sonatinas entitled ‘Raccolta di Sonatine’ (Ongaku-no-Tomo Sha Corp). She staged forty concerts in the series ‘Kikuko Ogura’s Mozart Klavier Room’. The series ‘Kikuko Ogura – the World of the Fortepiano’ was launched in 2020. She is the producer of the Fortepiano Academy SACLA Japan, and is at present a part-time lecturer at the Tokyo College of Music.



Luther Museum

Nieuwe Keizersgracht 570
1018 VG Amsterdam
Meer informatie
4 aug 2024, 16.00
Luther Museum, Amsterdam