TimeSequence Duo: Anastasiya Akinfina – fortepiano & Jacopo Ristori – cello, Luther Museum, 6 november 2022

6 nov 2022, 16.45
Luther Museum, Amsterdam
Anastasiya Akinfina - fortepiano & harpsichord Jacopo Ristori - cello

TimeSequence Duo

Fortepianiste Anastasiya Akinfina en cellist Jacopo Ristori, stonden in de finale van het Siegburg Concours 2021 ‘Beethoven in Seiner Zeit’ en spelen op 6 november 2022 muziek van en uit Beethovens tijd. Met Beethoven en de componist Ries die na hem kwam en Beethoven’s toorts verder droeg, vormt dit recital op 6 november een passende “ferner Nachklang” van het Beethoven Festival in Zutphen, dat plaats vond van 10-11-12 juni 2022.

fortepiano: Johann Baptist Streicher (1796-1871), Vienna, 1867 AA-a4, 440 Hz Viennese action with two pedals: una corda and dampers


Ferdinand Ries (1784-1838):

• Introduction and a Russian Dance, op. 11
This piece written in 1823 reflects a fashion of the early 19th century, when Eastern European national music became popular in central Europe and was often used for instance as a theme for variation. Clearly influenced by his mentor Beethoven and his friend, the cellist Bernhard Romberg, this is an excellent concert piece!

Ludwig van Beethoven (1775-1827)

• Sonata Op. 102, no. 2 in D Major
Allegro con brio
Adagio con molto sentimento d’affetto – Attacca
Allegro – Allegro fugato

———– Pauze ————

Bernhard Henrich Romberg (1767-1841):

• Divertimento on Westphalian National Themes, Op.65
Bernhard Romberg gave an important contribution to the development of the cello. Romberg spent most of his life as a performer, playing as a soloist in the most prestigious stages all around Europe. Beethoven and Romberg had a strong connection from the beginning of their carrier when they met in 1790. Beethoven truly admired Romberg playing and, together with Duport brothers, he inspired the great Master to compose music for cello.

This Divertimento is probably not the most characteristic piece by Romberg but it is a good example of the kind of music was performed beside great masterpieces. The Divertimento consist in an introduction (slow movement) followed by themes with variations. It is allowed to suppose that Romberg could have composed this piece as a homage in a concert given somewhere in the Province of Westphalia (that was part of the Kingdom of Prussia) while he was on tour in Germany.

Carl Czerny (1791-1857)

Introduction, Variations Concertantes, Op. 248

About TimeSequence Duo Jacopo Ristori, cello  & Anastasiya Akinfina, fortepiano.
In their shared passion for chamber music, when starting to play together, Anastasiya and Jacopo immediately found a musical understanding. The combination of their love for Early Music, Historical Performance Practice and the Classical / Romantic repertoire, results in a shared musical eagerness, that surpasses the expression of the individual musician. In 2021 they were finalists of the Beethoven In His Time Competition in Germany.

Anastasiya is a versatile performer, both in solo playing as well as chamber and orchestral music. In 2016 Anastasiya moved from Russia where she finished Moscow Conservatory at the Department of Historical and Contemporary Performance Practice as a pianist, harpsichordist and fortepianist. She continued her studies in the Netherlands at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam and Royal Conservatory of The Hague, under the guidance of Richard Egarr, Menno van Delft, Patrick Ayrton, Bart van Oort and Petra Somlai. In 2019 Anastasiya got her Master’s degree and in 2020 the Artist’s Certificate in fortepiano  and harpsichord playing. She is actively participating in concerts, recordings and different engagements around the Netherlands, Germany and Rusia.

Jacopo completed his studies at the Utrecht Conservatory in June 2019 under the guidance of Viola de Hoog. His playing stands out for the harmonic and rhythmical freedom he takes, which is a result of ongoing research into the historical musical taste connected to each of the musical styles. Besides chamber music, Jacopo is active in various ensembles such as Concerto Koln and the Nieuwe Philarmonie Utrecht. Recently he was part of the internship organized by Collegium Vocale Gent led by Philippe Herreweghe.



Luther Museum

Nieuwe Keizersgracht 570
1018 VG Amsterdam
Meer informatie



Anastasiya Akinfina - fortepiano & harpsichord

Meer informatie

Jacopo Ristori - cello

Meer informatie
6 nov 2022, 16.45
Luther Museum, Amsterdam